Today’s Nintendo Direct delayed due to powerful earthquake in Hokkaido

By Stephany Nunneley, Wednesday, 5 September 2018 14:36 GMT

The Nintendo Direct presentation planned for today has been delayed.

Update 2: Nintendo of America announced this morning that due to the earthquake in Hokkaido, Japan, today’s Direct will not be airing.

The company did not say when we can expect the Direct to drop, but promised to provide a new date “in the near future.” You can see Nintendo’s tweet, and the original story, below.

Update 1: Nintendo has confirmed a Nintendo Direct presentation will he held tomorrow, after reports surfaced earlier this morning.

The Nintendo Direct is set to air Thursday, September 6 at 3pm PDT, 6pm EDT, 11pm BST which is 12am CET Friday, September 7.

It will last around 35 minutes, and will focus on upcoming 3DS and Switch titles.

While it’s still possible we’ll hear more about Switch Online, its inclusion wasn’t mentioned by Nintendo.

You can watch The Nintendo Direct right here along with us.

Original story follows.

Original story

Switch Online is possibly one of the topics tomorrow’s Nintendo Direct will cover, according to rumblings.

Along with additional information regarding the online service, indie titles which weren’t covered in last week’s Nindies Showcase will be announced (thanks, Nintendo Life).

Nintendo Switch Online is slated to launch the second half of September, which is just around the corner. A Nintendo Direct airing ahead of time with new information would be fitting.

We know there will be 20 NES games available on the service at launch, and  it will feature the ability to back up save files in the cloud, but surely there’s much more to it.

When Nintendo Switch Online goes live, online multiplayer in games will be locked behind the subscription. The service will run customers $3.99 per month, $7.99 quarterly, or $19.99 per year.

We expect the company to officially confirm the Nintendo Direct presentation at some point today.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments