PUBG’s event mode this weekend, Dodgebomb, is for lovers of grenade spam

By Sherif Saed, Thursday, 9 August 2018 15:10 GMT

If you think there aren’t enough grenades in PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds, you’re going to love this weekend’s event mode.

PUBG Corp. has revealed the event mode for this week. Called Dodgebomb, the mode is a variant of war mode where three squads of ten players spawn in a small area of Erangel.

The name is perfect, because players won’t find any weapons in the world. Instead, everyone will spawn with grenades and molotovs. You’ll also spawn in with level 3 gear, and a frying pan, for some reason.

Unlike some other war mode variants, taking lethal damage will get you killed outright, no knock-outs. Planes will fly by every 30 seconds to spawn dead players back in. Killing an enemy earns your team three points, and the first team to reach 100 points wins.

Weather won’t change from sunny, and red zones are disabled. You don’t have to worry about friendly fire, either. Finally, Dodgebomb doesn’t feature any care packages or killer spectating.

It really is just about spamming grenades.

Dodgebomb will kick off today at 7pm PT, 10pm ET and 3am BST (August 10). It goes offline Sunday, August 12 at these same times. The mode is available in both first and third-person in North America, Europe, and Asia.

Korea, Japan, Southeast Asia, Oceania, and South America all get the third-person variant only.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments