Shadow of War demo hits PC, 66% off sale almost over

By Sherif Saed, Monday, 23 July 2018 14:38 GMT

Now that Middle-earth: Shadow of War is completely free of microtransactions, it may be time to give it a shot.

After first removing the ability to buy War Chests using real-world money, Shadow of War developer Monolith released another patch to take out the in-game store altogether.

The patch launched on Tuesday, and brought other improvements to the game, particularly the Shadow Wars epilogue. This coincided with the release of a demo for Shadow of War, which was a couple of days late on PC.

Well, this PC demo is now available on Steam. It’s a big 50GB download, but there are a couple of reasons for that.

First, like most demos these days, it’s essentially a trial that allows you to take your character and progress over to the full game if you buy it. Second, the demo actually offers a decent chunk of playable content.

The entire region of Nurn is available in the demo, complete with its own quests and fortress assault. You’ll be able to recruit followers, level up your character, unlock gear etc. like you would in the full version.

Shadow of War is now also on sale for 66% off, its deepest discount ever. This brings the price down to $20.40/£15.30/€20.40 for the standard edition. The sale is available for a little over three hours. It ends at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm BST today.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments