PUBG’s Metal Rain event mode brings back the flare gun

By Sherif Saed, Friday, 20 July 2018 14:02 GMT

This week’s event mode in PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds is a return of Metal Rain.

Metal Rain is an eight-player, 12-squad mode in PUBG with a twist. Played only on Erangel, the mode adds a flare gun to the loot table.

There are several of them scattered around, and if you find one, you’ll be able to call in a special treat. If you’re outside the playzone, the flare gun will call in an armoured UAZ. If you’re inside, however, it’ll drop a special care package.

Regular care packages, and the red zone do return, though the weather is dynamic unlike traditional Erangel matches. There have been no changes to gameplay since the last iteration was live, though PUBG Corp. did make an update to the UI.

The new UI should make it easier for players to tell which drop the flare gun will bring down, whether it’s the armoured UAZ or the weapons/gear type of drop. There’s also a new location marker to aid players in finding out where the drop went.

Metal Rain went live earlier this morning, and will be available all weekend until Sunday, July 22 at 7pm PT, 10pm ET and Monday, July 23 at 3am BST. The mode can played in first and third-person perspectives on North American, European, and Asian servers.

As always, Korean, Japanese, Southeast Asia, Oceania, and South America only get the third-person variant.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments