Psyonix celebrates 3 years of Rocket League and 10 years of Battle Cars with in-game event

By Shabana Arif, Wednesday, 4 July 2018 17:05 GMT

Rocket League is celebrating its third anniversary with an in-game event that includes new items, and a nod to Battle Cars.

Psyonix has announced a Rocket League anniversary event, set to kick off on July 9, to celebrate three years of Rocket League and ten years since the release of its 2008 title, Supersonic Acrobatic Rocket-Powered Battle-Cars (SARPBC).

A 3v3 Anniversary Playlist, featuring a stadium that’s a throwback to Battle-Cars, will be added to the Casual Playlists page, with Psyonix explaining that the goal layout will differ to that seen in the rest of the game’s arenas, and will be more in line with Battle Cars. The ball weight will also be tweaked to evoke a Battle-Cars feel, so players can expect it to be lighter than normal.

Event crates are being replaced with SARPBC 10th Anniversary-themed balloons that players can earn in online matches.

Balloons can be redeemed for Golden Eggs that contain Golden Egg items.

They can be traded in with other Golden Egg items, but players won’t be able trade them in with Crate items.

There are a total of 60 customisation items to be found, all from the retired Champions Series Crates.

The event will run from July 9 to July 23. Players won’t be able to redeem Balloons after the event wraps up, so make sure you do so before 5pm PDT/ 8pm EDT on July 23, and 1am BST on July 24.

You can check out dates and times for your region below:

  • Anniversary Event Start Time: Monday, July 9, 10am PDT (1pm EDT, 7pm CEST)
  • Anniversary Event End Time: Monday, July 23, 5pm PDT (8pm EDT, 2am CEST on July 24)
  • Anniversary Event ‘Balloons’ Expire: Monday, July 23, 5pm PDT (8pm EDT, 2am CEST on July 24)
  • The Anniversary Event ‘Balloons’ expire as soon as the Event concludes. There is no one-week redemption grace period.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments