Call of Duty Black Ops 4 won’t let you buy DLC packs separately – it’s the full season pass or nothing

By James O'Connor
14 June 2018 04:27 GMT

Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 is doing away with individual DLC purchases – all DLC will be tied to the season pass.

Unfortunately, it seems the rumours of Black Ops 4 ditching its season pass aren’t true – the Black Ops Pass will bring a total of 12 new maps, plus five new zombie experiences and four exlusive characters for the new ‘Blackout’ (battle royale) mode.

In the past, these lots of DLC have been divided into packs that can also be purchased separately. This seems to no longer be the case.

Black Ops 4 will now ask that you buy the Black Ops Pass, or simply play the game without DLC. Smaller packs are no longer available for separate purchase.

Activision’s FAQ page for the Black Ops Pass contains some justification: “We’re redefining the digital content season for Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 by delivering more content with more frequency. In addition to the release of Multiplayer maps, Zombies experiences, and Blackout content, Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 players can also expect in-game content and themed events, creating a robust content season.”

At present, Activision is encouraging players to grab the Digital Deluxe Edition, the Digital Deluxe Enhanced Edition, or the Pro Edition to get their hands on the pass (each edition also comes with extra goodies).

Black Ops 4 does not feature a campaign at all, so we’d hoped that perhaps some concessions would be made and more multiplayer content would be provided for everyone. On the plus side, the very good Black Ops 3 is available on PS Plus right now.

Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 releases on PC, PS4 and XBox One on October 12.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch