PUBG Sanhok testing extended once again due to “interesting performance problems”

By Sherif Saed, Thursday, 7 June 2018 13:16 GMT

PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds is extending testing for the Sanhok map for a second time.

PUBG Corp. announced the extension in a blog post earlier today. The reason for this extension is simple: performance problems.

Or, as the developer called it, “interesting performance problems” that the team is still working on solving. Some of these problems are due to unnecessary packet transfers from client to servers.

“Currently, the distance in which players are rendered is up to a maximum radius of 1km from your current position. As Sanhok is 1/4th the size of Erangel and Miramar, the number of players within this 1km area is generally much higher,” the developer wrote, explaining one other reason behind these issues.

Players see this poor server performance manifest in things like teleporting players, lag and stuttering in the early-game. The solution, according to the developer, is to reduce the maximum player render distance on Sanhok.

This is only being done on this map, however, because of the “very low” kill rate at extremely long distances. These changes will be added soon, so it makes sense that testing has been extended.

Sanhok servers will close on Monday, June 11 at 4am PT, 7am ET, 12pm BST.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments