PUBG’s Metal Rain event mode lets you call in an air-dropped armoured UAZ

By Sherif Saed, Friday, 20 April 2018 11:27 GMT

PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds has a new event mode this week that adds an armoured UAZ.

The PUBG event mode is called Metal Rain, and in case you’re wondering, this is indeed the same armoured UAZ found in game files earlier this week.

Metal Rain is an eight-player squad game mode played on Erangel. The twist is that squads can use the flare gun to call in the armoured UAZ, but only when fired outside the white circle.

Flare guns call in the special care package when fired from inside the white circle. Unlike an earlier iteration of eight-player squads, this time around flare guns don’t have fixed spawns, meaning you’ll just have to hunt for them alongside regular loot.

Metal Rain is available now on all servers. A first-person variant is also available, but only in North America, Europe, Asia, Southeast Asia, and Oceania. The mode runs until 7pm PT, 10pm ET on Sunday, April 22, which is 3am UK on Monday.

This is also the first time we’re seeing PUBG’s dynamic weather feature on Erangel, after the tech debuted during the first Savage map testing. The rest of the rule sets as far as blue zone speed and red zone frequency are unchanged.

In other PUBG news, developer PUBG Corp. recently confirmed that map selection is coming soon to test servers.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments