Make War Not Love returns with freebies, big discounts on Sega strategy games

By Sherif Saed, Wednesday, 14 February 2018 15:33 GMT

If you’re not going to bother with today’s Valentine’s Day routine, you may as well play some damn good strategy games.

Sega’s Make War Not Love event returns for a fifth year, putting a few strategy games on sale, and giving everyone a chance to earn in-game DLC, and get some free games.

The games participating in this year’s event are Company of Heroes 2, Total War: Warhammer 2, Endless Space 2, and Dawn of War 3. All four are currently discounted on Steam and for the duration of the event.

The goal of Make War Not Love is to play these games as much as possible as a community. Sega will tally ever game’s combined play hours at the end of each day, and if the daily target is met, Sega will give away free DLC to all owners of the games that’ll automatically show up in their Steam libraries.

This can be DLC, skins, or even discount coupons for other Sega games. If you’re not into strategy games, you can still sign up at the official website and get two free games for your trouble: the Mega Drive classics Shinobi, and Streets of Rage 2.

The event runs until 1am PT, 4am ET, 9am UK on Monday, February 19.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.