Sea of Thieves closed beta kicks off January 24 and will run for five days

By Stephany Nunneley, Tuesday, 9 January 2018 20:42 GMT

The Sea of Thieves closed beta has a date and will be accessible to those who joined the Insider Program.

It was announced today the closed beta for Sea of Thieves would kick off on January 24 and run through January 29.

Those who joined the Sea of Thieves Insider Program before December 1 will be admitted. Those who pre-ordered the game are also a shoe-in.

While players won’t be testing the full game during the testing phase, Rare has “crafted a bespoke experience,” which will offer testers a “true taste of what Sea of Thieve has to offer.”

Microsoft said the closed beta will not be covered by an NDA as previously thought, so players can stream, create videos, share clips, take screenshots and everything else in between.

The Sea of Thieves closed beta kick off at 4am PST, 7am EST, 12pm BST, 1pm CEST on January 24. It is scheduled to end on January 29 at 12am PST, 3am EST, 8am BST, 9am CEST.

sea_of_thieves_1

If you pre-ordered the game through the Xbox or Windows Store, the client will show up 24 hours before the beta begins. Once it pops up, just download and install it. Those who pre-ordered a physical version copy through retail will need to redeem the code for the Black Dog cosmetic pack.

Once this has been done, the game will appear in the games library 24 hours before the closed beta starts.

Sea of Thieves will be released on March 20 for Xbox One and Windows 10.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments

Headlines

Action

Adventure

Blockbuster