Destiny 2: The Dawning seasonal event kicks off today

By Stephany Nunneley, Tuesday, 19 December 2017 14:25 GMT

The annual winter event in Destiny, The Dawning, returns today in Destiny 2.

Bungie announced that The Dawning will run December 19 – January 9 in Destiny 2. The event starts today at 9am PT, 12pm ET, 5pm UK, 6pm CET, which is the typical reset time for Destiny.

Expect the Tower and Farm to look rather festive, watch out for snowballs, play some hockey, and Mayhem is back in the Crucible. Every week, players can also complete a milestone for a Dawning engram, and new consumables will reward everyone on a player’s Fireteam.

Tess will also refresh her inventory each week with The Dawning items which can be purchased using Bright Dust. Players will also find Dawning-themed exotics like a ship, ghost, sparrow, emote or more in the shop “on one week or another,” and every Dawning-themed legendary armor piece will pop up.

In October during a set of livestreams, Bungie discussed the return of The Dawning in Destiny 2 and provided a quick look at armor and new activities. The event will also affect the rest of the game world so expect to see some differences in places other than social areas.

Here’s full details from Bungie:

Snowball Fights

Guardians aren’t just arming themselves with weapons. There are snowball piles everywhere you look. In the Tower and at the Farm, you can tag your friends for bragging rights. In Strikes, you can blast an enemy with a snowball to stun them and deal big damage. Stay frosty out there.

Mayhem in the Cold

Keep your blood warm and your heart pumping in the Crucible. Mayhem is back, so your abilities recharge faster. Point values are cranked up enough to melt the ice. It’s anarchy—and it’s awesome.

Milestones of Winter

Engage in Crucible Mayhem or become legend in Strikes and you’ll be rewarded. Every week, complete a milestone for a Dawning engram. Get in the giving mood with new consumables that give rewards to everyone you’re playing with. If there’s a specific Dawning item that you have your heart set on, Tess will refresh her inventory each week, enabling you to use your Bright Dust reserves for your holiday shopping. On one week or another during the three-week event, you’ll find every Dawning-themed exotic (ship, ghost, sparrow, emote) and every Dawning-themed legendary armor piece on her shelves.

Gifting and Receiving

Pick up a Dawning Gift Schematic from the Bazaar. Venture to other worlds and craft a unique gift for the vendors and agents you find in the Tower and beyond. Then, give the lucky recipient their gift and receive a gift in return. You can participate in the season of giving every day of the event.

Have fun.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments

Headlines

Blockbuster

Curse Of Osiris

Destiny