Rainbow Six Siege officially gets 60hz servers today

By Sherif Saed, Thursday, 14 December 2017 09:27 GMT

Rainbow Six Siege’s patch 4.1 may be small, but it’s got a major feature the developer has been working on for years.

That being, of course, high tickrate servers, which Rainbow Six Siege developer Ubisoft trialled in different forms over the past two years. The update will bring 60hz servers to all platforms, following the most recent successful testing period towards the end of Operation White Noise’s TTS.

A higher tickrate means that servers can send and receive more information per second, improving hit detection and other core systems that rely on having a responsive server.

Outside of that, the list of notes is small compared to typical Siege patches. It also includes a fix for some issues players reported before the launch of Operation White Noise.

Update 4.1 will be deployed following one hour of server maintenance that varies by platform. Here’s the schedule:

  • PC: 9am-10am EST, 6am-7am PT, 2pm-3pm GMT
  • PS4: 10am-11am EST, 7am-8am PT, 4pm-5pm GMT
  • Xbox One: 11am-12:00pm EST, 8am-9am PT, 5pm-6pm GMT

rainbow_six_siege_operation_white_noise

As for the patch notes, you can see all of them below:

  • Fixed – Players lose all functionality/control after picking up a deployable shield.
  • Fixed – Ash’s breaching round does not break the wall in 2F Meeting Room on Tower.
  • Fixed – When a dead Operator is spectating a teammate while on their drone/camera, cycling through Support view modes (drone/camera and Operator views) a third option is available. This view is the First Person point of view of the operator, but the operator is invisible. If the living Operator leaves their camera/drone, the spectating Operator will see a floating gun.
  • Fixed – Dokkaebi’s gadget is not usable while rappelling.
  • Fixed – Zofia and Ela’s stats are inverted.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments