Monster Hunter World PlayStation Plus beta: start time, content, bonuses and everything else you need to know

By Stephany Nunneley, Friday, 8 December 2017 06:11 GMT

The Monster Hunter World beta kicks off this weeked, and here’s when PlayStation Plus members will be able to jump on it.

A PlayStation Plus-exclusive beta for Monster Hunter World will take place on December 9, and Capcom has posted the schedule along with contents of the beta and pre-load times.

During testing, save data will be wiped. This means that once the application is closed, the character’s name, appearance, equipment, and all other settings will be reset to default. Quest completion data, however, will be saved to the server.

We’ve listed the Monster Hunter World PlayStation Plus open beta start times in PST, as well as EST and BST. Click the time links in the Monster Hunter World start times details below, you’ll open a new tab showing the exact time in major cities in every time zone.

Pre-load: The Monster Hunter World beta will be made available for pre-load on Friday, December 8. A start time has not been provided as of December 2.

Start Time: December 9, 2017 at 9am PT / 12pm ET / 5pm BST/ 6pm CEST

The PS Plus-exclusive beta obviously requires a membership, an internet connection and a PS4 console. Players will also need 5.9GB of free space available.

The Monster Hunter World beta test will also use worldwide multiplayer matchmaking to test server load for the upcoming release. For the duration of the beta test, players will be grouped with other players from around the world.

It’s worth noting that the beta features a game currently in development, so some aspects such as balance may be changed before the final release.

monster_hunter_world_beta_monsters

Monster Hunter Beta end times

The test will close on Tuesday, December 12 at 8.59am PT / 11.59am ET/ 4.59pm BST/ 5.59pm CEST

Capcom hasn’t provided information on whether PS4 users without a Plus membership will be able to jump into a beta. At present, the test is exclusive to PS4, but Capcom has said a PC beta will be made available at some point.

Considering the PC version of Monster Hunter World is currently without a release date, we suspect the test will be announced once a firm release window is provided.

Monster Hunter World beta content

The beta will feature three quests across two environments from the game. Each quest can be played solo or with up to three other players online.

In the Ancient Forest, players can fight the beginner-friendly Great Jagras and as they gain more experience, the more challenging Anjanath. In the Wildspire Waste, the intermediate level, mud-slinging Barroth will be waiting on players.

There will be 14 different weapon types available, and can be changed during quests at camp. If you are interested in having a look at some of the various weapons available, here’s an extensive look at the 14 weapon types in Monster Hunter World.

Some are really cool too, such as the Insect Glaive, Switch Axe, and Dual Blades. There’s also the Charge Blade as well as the Bowgun and Hunting Horn.

Players will be able to try each weapon type out before heading out on a quest by visiting the Training Room. Potions and other supplies will be provided on quests during the beta.

Upon completion of each quest, players will be presented with bonus item rewards which will carry over to the full game upon purchase.

In order to claim the Monster Hunter World bonuses, players will need to use the same Sony Entertainment Network account for both the beta and the full game.

 

 

Here are the full Monster Hunter World beta details provided by Capcom:

Single Player

  • Play online single player by departing alone on any of the quests.
  • You must be online even when playing single player.

Multiplayer

  • Participate in multiplayer with players from around the world.
  • You also have the option during quest creation to set a language filter, which will match you only with players with the same language as you.
  • Certain online features will be unavailable in the beta, such as the ability to join quests midway through, Guild Cards, removing other players from a quest, and friend invites (these features will be available in the full retail version).

Three Different Quests

“Great Devourer, Great Jagras”

  • Great Jagras Hunt
  • Locale: Ancient Forest

“Wildspire Rampage”

  • Barroth Hunt
  • Locale: Wildspire Waste

“The Ancient Forest Menace”

  • Anjanath Hunt
  • Locale: Ancient Forest

Character Creation and Naming

Other Features

  • Voice and Text Chat
  • Training Area: Test out any of the 14 different weapon types in a private training space
  • Available Languages (Voice & Text): English, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish

Participation Bonuses

  • Face Paint: Completing any of the three quests featured in the beta will earn you one Face Paint to customize your character with in the full retail version.
  • Item Sets: Completing each of the three quests for the first time will earn you item sets you can use in the full retail version. Items include lifepowder, max potions, shock traps, and lots more that will help you out on the hunt.

PlayStation Plus members will be able to participate in the Monster Hunter World beta on PS4 December 9-12.

Monster Hunter World releases on January 26 for PS4 and Xbox One, and again, the PC version hasn’t been dated.

 

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments

Headlines

Action

Esrb Teen

Fantasy