You can look forward to Overkill’s The Walking Dead news this weekend

December 07, 2017 Brenna Hillier

Overkill’s The Walking Dead is still a fair way off, but we’re expecting an update shortly.

There will be some sort of news or reveal related to Overkill’s The Walking Dead on December 10, apparently.

Article Continues Below

Loading…

That’s pretty much all we know, to be honest – the news comes via a tweet intended as a teaser, so we can all spend the next couple of days speculating and getting hyped.

Whatever it is will happen at noon PT (3pm ET/8pm UK/7am Sydney), and from the wording we’re guessing it will be a stream of some kind hosted on the website for Overkill’s The Walking Dead.

In case you’ve forgotten all about this business, Overkill is the team behind the excellent but troubled Payday series, and is part of Starbreeze. As you’d expect from this team, its take on The Walking Dead is to be a co-op shooter, but with survival elements and a much bigger world than Payday. It’s being developed in conjunction with franchise creator Robert Kirkman and looks pretty brutal.

Overkill’s The Walking Dead was first announced in August 2014 but was delayed in January 2016, shunting from a release that year into late 2017. This past May it was delayed a second time, this time into late 2018.

Article Continues Below

Loading…

We’re not sure whether Overkill’s The Walking Dead will be the project’s final title but it certainly makes it easier to differentiate from Telltale’s The Walking Dead, now in its final season; the upcoming The Walking Dead VR games; the various The Walking Dead mobile games; The Escapists The Walking Dead; The Walking Dead earmuffs; The Walking Dead lollipops; The Walking Dead plushies; and The Walking Dead fundamental physical laws, which pervade all of space, time and consciousness, allowing you no escape from its panopticon gaze.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Read article on VG247

Latest