Watch The Game Awards 2017 here – find out who wins, check out Metro Exodus, Death Stranding and more

By Stephany Nunneley, Thursday, 7 December 2017 13:48 GMT

The fourth annual The Game Awards takes place this evening, and there’s bound to be some surprises in store. So, don’t miss out: watch it all unfold with us right here.

The Game Awards 2017 starts at 6pm pacific, 9pm eastern, 2am UK.

Those interested in the pre-show livestream can start watching at 5.30 pm pacific, 8.30pm eastern, 1.30am UK, You can find start times for your region through this handy listing on the official website for The Game Awards.

Both shows will be broadcast live via PSN, Steam, Twitch, Twitter, YouTube, Mixer, Xbox Live and other services. We’ve embedded the YouTube steam.

Along with the awards, an exclusive new look at Metro Exodus will be shown, and we’ll also get our first proper look at the desert map of PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds during the annual Game Awards.

Plus, considering Hideo Kojima, Norman Reedus, and Guillermo del Toro will be on-hand to present awards, we totally expect a new look at Death Stranding.

Presenters other than Kojima and del Toro include Felicia Day, Andy Serkis, Zachary Levi and Aisha Tyler, who was unable to host the Ubisoft E3 2017 presser.

Along with expected game debuts, announcements and trailers, awards will also be handed out. It’s an awards show, after all.

Game of the Year contenders for 2017 are: Horizon Zero Dawn, The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, Persona 5,Super Mario Odyssey, and PUBG – even if developer Brendan Greene doesn’t believe the game should win the award.

Last year, the Game of the Year honor went to Overwatch which also won Best Multiplayer game. Blizzard also took home the Best Studio/Game Direction award.

Many games are up for multiple awards this year. For example, Horizon Zero Dawn, Zelda: Breath of the Wild, and Super Mario Odyssey have six nominations each. You can look over the full list of The Game Awards 2017 nominees through here.

This year, the first Student Game Award (SGA) will be also be handed out. The award will be selected from five nominees by a panel made up of Todd Howard (Bethesda Game Studios), Hideo Kojima (Kojima Productions), Illka Paananen (CEO and Co-founder, Supercell), Kim Swift (EA Motive), and Vince Zampella (Respawn Entertainment).

As usual, expect all the important announcements, videos and award winners to be posted on the site. You can also expect a round up post full of links after all is said and done, because things tend to get lost on the front page for this sort thing.

Again, The Game Awards 2017 kicks off at 6pm pacific, 9pm eastern, 2am UK. Be sure to keep us company.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments

Headlines

Death Stranding

Guillermo Del Toro

Hideo Kojima