Far Cry 5 delayed to late March, The Crew 2 into first half of next fiscal year

By Stephany Nunneley, Thursday, 7 December 2017 17:24 GMT

Delays for Far Cry 5 and The Crew 2 have been handed down by Ubisoft.

According to Ubisoft, it plans to invest in additional development time for Far Cry 5, which pushes it out of a late February release and into late March.

The Crew 2 has also been delayed into the first half of Fiscal 2018-19, rather than on March 16, 2018

Ubisoft is in the third quarter of the fiscal year, so The Crew 2 probably won’t release until sometime next spring, as fiscal year 2018-19 doesn’t start until the end of March.

The firm also said that “one of three” unannounced titles will now release in fiscal 2019-20 instead of the 2018-19 period.

far_cry_5_2

“This decision is in line with our strategic vision of developing even more engaging and higher quality experiences for gamers,” said Christine Burgess-Quémard, Ubisoft’s Worldwide Studios Executive Director.

“Taking more time with Assassin’s Creed Origins enabled our talented development team to fully express their creative vision. As expected, this had a very positive impact on the game’s quality and largely participated to its commercial success.

“Taking a similar approach, we have decided to invest additional development time in three upcoming games.”

Far Cry 5 is now slated for release on March 27 instead of February 27, which in only a delay by a month, so that’s not to terribly bad. We’ll get a new look at the game tomorrow on the Ubiblog come 10pm PST, 1am ET, 6am UK (Dec. 9), so that’s something to look forward to.

Given the time listed by Ubisoft, it sounds as though the new look has something to do with PlayStation Experience 2017, which kicks off with a presentation tomorrow at 8pm pacific, 11pm eastern.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments

Headlines

Action

Blockbuster

Driving