Destiny 2 will go down for a while on Thursday to implement a console update and a PC hotfix

By James O'Connor, Tuesday, 31 October 2017 23:22 GMT

Guardians, there’s an upcoming period of Destiny 2 downtime that you might want to plan around.

Destiny 2 will go down for about four hours on Thursday, November 2, so that the game can be updated. During that time, you’ll need to find something else to do with yourself (personally I recommend reading through our Destiny 2 guide).

According to Destiny’s help page, at 8:00 AM Pacific / 3:00 PM UTC, the game will be unavailable to log into. An hour after this, players who were already playing when this period began will be kicked briefly so that the updates can be implemented.


This will be done to bring the game up to version 1.0.6, which is going to make public spaces more populated and introduce various tweaks to Crucible match parameters. At the same time, the PC version will get a hotfix that will address issues players may have had with their clan pages, and to fix performance issues some might have experienced.

The work is scheduled to end at 12:00 PM Pacific / 7:00 PM UTC, but the update will be available two hours prior, meaning that you can jump straight back in when the game returns.

So, yes, it’ll be down for a bit, but Destiny 2 will come back slightly more stable and enjoyable than before. What’s not to like?

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.