Call of Duty: WW2 private beta details revealed

By Sherif Saed, Monday, 14 August 2017 19:30 GMT

Call of Duty: WW2 developer Sledgehammer Games has outlined what players can expect from the game’s beta later this month.

To start with, the private beta will go live first on PS4 on August 25 and remain exclusive for that weekend. The next weekend, September 1, the beta will be available on PS4 and Xbox One, but the developer did not specifically mention PC.

As far as content, it sounds like it’s going to be pretty hefty. At least three maps will be available including: Du Hoc, Ardennes, and Gibraltar. Team Deathmatch, Domination, and Hardpoint will be the available modes.

War Mode, the attack/defend mode new to the series, will also be represented in the beta. Only one operation, Breakout, will be available. You’ll also be able to try out the new Divisions system, which replaces create-a-class.

All five Divisions will be accessible in the beta. That’s Infantry, Expeditionary, Airborne, Armoured, and Mountain Division. Progression will be limited, however, and not all weapons, scorestreaks, and Basic Training Skills will be available.

Sadly, although the beta is intended to stress test matchmaking, the often talked about Headquarters mode won’t be part of the test.

Sledgehammer promised to reveal more about the beta, and show off some of the content during a livestream from Cologne, Germany at gamescom this year. The show will be streamed at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm BST, 7pm CEST on Tuesday, August 22.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments

Headlines

Blockbuster

Call Of Duty

Call Of Duty Ww2