PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds has sold over 2 million copies, devs kick off Charity Invitational

By Stephany Nunneley, Tuesday, 2 May 2017 14:49 GMT

PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds is a hit. It has sold over 2 million copies since it went live through Steam Early Access on March 24.

battlegrounds

This isn’t the first big milestone for the game. Three days after PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds went into early access, it earned earned $11 million.

In more Battlegrounds news, developer Brendan Greene along with publisher and co-developer Bluehole, Inc. will host a Charity Invitational via livestream.

Here, 64 European streamers and 64 North American streamers will battle it out in a series of competitions with an event goal set at $100,000.

Funds from the Charity Invitation will benefit Gamers Outreach, which provides equipment, technology, and software to help kids cope with treatment inside hospitals.

Bluehole will also match all donations up to $100,000 to benefit Gamers Outreach. If you would like to donate, give this link a click.

The stream kicks off on the official PlayerUnknown Twitch channel Thursday, May 4, at 9am PT/ 12pm ET/ 5pm UK and will run through 5pm PT/ 9pm ET/ 2am UK.

If you’re still unfamiliar with the game, Battlegrounds is a last-man-standing shooter where players must fight to locate weapons and supplies on a 8×8 km island.

If you decide to try it out, good luck with becoming the lone survivor.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments