Realistic shooter Squad, from the creators of Battlefield 2’s Project Reality mod, is free to play on Steam this weekend

By Sherif Saed, Friday, 7 April 2017 13:41 GMT

Give Squad’s realistic take on the Battlefield formula a go this weekend on Steam.

Squad, the tactical shooter by the team whose members include many of the original developers of Battlefield 2’s Project Reality mod, is free to play this weekend on Steam. Currently in Early Access, Squad offers 50v50 online matches and has received several content updates already.

Maps in Squad are huge, based on real-world locations. It features positional VOIP and team features that Battlefield players will be familiar with.

Squad is similar to Insurgency in that both have very realistic gun mechanics. Squad is even more expansive than Insurgency, however, as it specialises in combined-arms combat. Think of it as a modern version of Project Reality, or a hardcore Battlefield game with less budget.

The game is a relatively small download at just below 10GB, anyone can download and play until 1pm PT, 4pm ET, 8pm GMT, 9pm BST on Sunday, April 9. Squad is also on sale for 50% off, bringing the price down to $20/£15/€18.49.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments