Street Fighter 5: get a look at Story Mode and the new fighters in this video

By Stephany Nunneley, Thursday, 30 June 2016 17:54 GMT

Tomorrow, Capcom will release the content pack formerly known as the June Update for Street Fighter 5.

It includes the story mode A Shadow Falls and fighters Ibuki and Balrog. Story mode will be available to all players for free, and all released post-launch characters can be acquired using Fight Money.

The cinematic story, A Shadow Falls, is divided into five acts which take place between Street Fighter 3 and Street Fighter 4, depicting the battle between the evil Shadaloo organization and the World Warriors.

During story mode, players will use each of the core 16 characters and the six released and three unreleased 2016 DLC characters. Each will make their own contribution in battle during the mode.

As announced last week, fighters Balrog and Ibuki arrive tomorrow with A Shadow Falls.

The update also includes an upgraded in-game currency shop, matchmaking improvements, new costumes and more.

Here’ the list:

  • New stages – Balrog’s Las Vegas stage and Karin’s Kanzuki Family Private Beach stage are brand new and will be available to purchase using Fight Money or real currency. Additionally, three new alternate stage options will become available.
  • New costume options – Premium Battle Costumes for all 20 released characters, as well as Karin’s Premium Summer Costume, will be available to purchase using real currency. Balrog and Ibuki’s Story Costumes will be purchasable using either Fighter Money or real currency.
  • In-game Currency Shop – The in-game store will be upgraded with the PlayStation Store and Steam real money purchase options, for their respective platform. For players who want to purchase content like new characters, stages and costumes outright without using Fight Money, the process will be familiar with purchases happening through the established first party infrastructures.
  • Matchmaking improvements – Faster and smarter matching, resulting in higher quality matches and a better online experience overall.

Pricing for the extra Street Fighter 5 content is as follows:

street_fighter_5_pricing

Servers will be brought down in support of the new content update today at the following times: 2pm PT/5pm ET/10pm UK/11pm CET.

The update will go live tomorrow, July 1 at 12am PT/3am ET/8am UK/9am CET.

A set of Balrog images along with artwork for Urien and Juri are below.

street_fighter_5 balrog (1)

street_fighter_5 balrog (2)

street_fighter_5 balrog (3)

street_fighter_5 balrog (4)

street_fighter_5 balrog (5)

street_fighter_5 balrog (6)

street_fighter_5 balrog (7)

street_fighter_5 balrog (8)

street_fighter_5 balrog (11)

street_fighter_5 balrog (32)

street_fighter_5 balrog (33)

street_fighter_5_uriel

street-fighter_5_juri

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments