Ex-Lionhead devs making a new card game called Fable Fortune

By Sherif Saed, Monday, 30 May 2016 18:20 GMT

Fable Fortune is a new digital card game from Lionhead veterans.

fable_fortune_1

Ex-Lionhead devs making a new card game called Fable Fortune

Before Lionhead Studios were shuttered, the developer had a team working on a card battler game based in the Fable universe. The team worked on it for 18 months, according to IGN.

That game was never officially released or even announced. Tomorrow, at 3pm BST / 10am ET / 7am PT, Flaming Fowl Studios, a studio made up of former Lionhead staff, will take the project to Kickstarter. Flaming Fowl is co-founded by Craig Oman, Mike West and Marcus Lynn, all veterans of the British studio, and they’re hoping to finish the game using crowdfund money.

The team wants to raise at least £250,000 for the free-to-play card game, with stretch goals planned. Microsoft has given Flaming Fowl the go-ahead to use the Fable license, and the team expects a closed beta to be ready shortly after the campaign’s end, with an open beta due in October for PC and Xbox One.

Fable Fortune features a Hearthstone-style setup where you have eight heroes, each with their unique abilities and twists. It has a 3D art style and supports online co-op, as well as a card levelling system.

You can catch the first gameplay video below, courtesy of IGN. UPDATE: video appears to have been pulled from YouTube, but you can still watch through the link.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments

Headlines

Fable

Fable Fortune

Flaming Fowl Studios