Overwatch: server times and everything you need to know for launch

By Staff, Thursday, 19 May 2016 20:08 GMT

Servers for Overwatch will go live on May 23 in the Americas and on May 24 in various other regions. To help quell any confusion, we have the launch timings posted below.

ovwerwatch

Overwatch: server times and everything you need to know for launch

Similar to the Open Beta, the game will launch in all regions at the same time globally.

Those who pre-ordered the physical version at GameStop can pick their copy up as soon as the store opens on May 23. Hopefully, those who ordered a physical edition from an online store will get it delivered on the same day.

Overwatch can be pre-downloaded on PC no later than Friday, May 20. The Battle.net desktop app on PC should automatically begin the download process once the update is available.

Those playing on Xbox One will need to make sure their console has Instant-On power mode enabled. This version is already available for pre-download.

overwatch_start_times

Overwatch Launch Times

Europe

  • 00:00 BST on May 24
  • 01:00 CEST on May 24
  • 02:00 MSK on May 24

The Americas and Australian regions

  • 4:00 p.m. PDT on May 23
  • 5:00 p.m. MDT on May 23
  • 6:00 p.m. CDT on May 23
  • 7:00 p.m. EDT on May 23
  • 8:00 p.m. ADT on May 23
  • 8:00 p.m. BRT on May 23
  • 8:30 p.m. NDT on May 23
  • 7:00 a.m. SGT on May 24
  • 9:00 a.m. AEST on May 24
  • 1:00 a.m. NZST on May 24

Asia

  • 7:00 a.m. CST
  • 8:00 a.m. KST
  • 8:00 a.m. JST

How big is the download?

Here’s what we gleaned from the respective platform stores:

  • PlayStation 4: 20GB
  • Xbox One: 10.09GB
  • PC: need 30GB  available hard drive space

PC Specs and supported Video Cards

ovwerwatch pc specs

overwatch supported cards

If you aren’t sure whether your video card is supported, Blizzard has a list of unsupported cards though here.

Installation Instructions

Since every platform is different, Blizzard has provided separate instructions on how to install the game on PC, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. Digital and physical format instructions for each platform are outlined below.

Windows PC

  • Step 1: Download and install the Battle.net desktop app, if you haven’t already, and launch it.
  • Step 2: Create a FREE Battle.net account, or log in with an existing account.
  • Step 3: Allow the app to download any pending updates (this process should begin automatically).
  • Step 4a: If you purchased a physical copy of Overwatch, claim your game key in Account Management.
  • Step 4b: If you purchased Overwatch digitally, no additional steps are necessary.
  • Step 5: Click the “Overwatch” icon, located on the left-hand side of the Battle.net desktop app.
  • Step 6: Select your region from the drop-down menu: the Americas, Europe, or Asia.
  • Step 7a: If you’ve never played Overwatch before on PC, click “Install” to begin the installation process.
  • Step 7b: If you played Overwatch before, allow your game client to update to the latest version.
  • Step 8: Once the game installed and updated, click “Play” to begin.

PlayStation 4 – Digital

  • Step 1: Turn on your PlayStation 4 and log in to your preferred local user.
  • Step 2a: If Auto Download is enabled, Overwatch should begin downloading as soon as it’s available.
  • Step 2b: If Auto Download is disabled, go to the PlayStation Store and select “Search” from the top menu.
  • Step 3: In the search field, type in “Overwatch.”
  • Step 4: Select “Overwatch: Origins Edition” from the search results and then click “Download”
  • Step 5: Once installed, select the Overwatch icon and press “X” to begin.

PlayStation 4 – Physical

  • Step 1: Turn on your PlayStation 4 and log in to your preferred local user.
  • Step 2: Remove the Overwatch disc from its packaging and insert it into the console.
  • Step 3: Follow the on-screen instructions to begin the installation process.
  • Step 4: Once installed, select the Overwatch icon and press “X” to begin.

Xbox One – Digital

  • Step 1: Turn on your Xbox One and log in to your Xbox Live account.
  • Step 2a: If Instant-On Mode is enabled, Overwatch should begin downloading as soon as it’s available.
  • Step 2b: If Instant-On Mode is disabled, go to the Xbox One Home screen and select “My games & apps.”
  • Step 3: Locate Overwatch under the “Games” tab and then click “Install.”
  • Step 4: Once installed, select the Overwatch icon and click “Launch” to begin.

Xbox One – Physical

  • Step 1: Turn on your Xbox One and log in to your Xbox Live account.
  • Step 2: Remove the Overwatch disc from its packaging and insert it into the console.
  • Step 3: Follow the on-screen instructions to begin the installation process.
  • Step 4: Once installed, select the Overwatch icon and select “Launch” to begin.

The Overwatch public beta pulled in 9.7 million players across all platforms which is more that either Destiny or The Division. This means there will be more than plenty of folks to play with when it lauches.

The 6v6 shooter comes with 21 heroes and each have their own unique weapons, personalities and playstyles providing users with an array of choices. If you didn’t play the beta, read up on what Paul Davies thought of it. Apparently, Overwatch is “easy to pick up, hard to put down; simple to learn, much harder to master.”

You can also find out anything and everything we know about Overwatch at present through our page hub.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments