Battleborn’s first free character arrives May 31, get Double XP this weekend

By Stephany Nunneley, Thursday, 19 May 2016 17:35 GMT

The first of five free playable characters for Battleborn will arrive at the end of the month.

battleborn_alani

Battleborn’s first free character arrives May 31, get Double XP this weekend

It’s Alani, the warrior-monk healer, and she will be released on May 31 for all platforms. She can be unlocked for 47,500 credits which are earned in-game.

A full reveal of Alani will arrive on the early access day, but you can get an in-game rendered look at her in the image above.

If you are a Digital Deluxe and Season Pass holder, you will be able to unlock Alani a week early via a Hero Key on May 24 at 9am PT/12pm ET/5pm UK using a Hero Key.

The Hero Key allows players to instantly unlock any one hero in the game with each new hero release. All you have to do is look for the hero you wish to unlock in the Battleborn Character screen in the Command Center and use the key. This will save you time if you don’t want to wait on earning the credits.

Digital Deluxe and Season Pass holders will receive one Hero Key and it is reusable. Here’s how, per Gearbox:

“Complete the challenge objective or reach the required Command Rank at any time after unlocking a hero using a Hero Key, then that Hero Key will be returned to you and you can then use that Hero Key to unlock another hero.”

Also, those who participated in the PlayStation 4 open beta will be handed a key to instantly unlock Alani on May 24 – or another hero of their choice. Or, the Battleborn DLC Pack Story Operation upon its release. Choice is a wonderful thing.

PS4 Open Beta players who also purchased a Season Pass or Digital Deluxe Edition will also receive an additional Hero Key which brings the “grand total to six” throughout the release of Season Pass content.

Finally, a Double XP event kicks off this weekend on Friday, May 20 at 8am PT/11am ET/4pm UK. Players will earn double Command Rank and Character Rank experience in all Story Mode missions and Competitive Multiplayer matches.

The event is global and available on platforms until Wednesday, May 25 at 8am PT/11am ET/4pm UK.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments