Overwatch beta: when it starts and how to get on it

By Staff, Wednesday, 4 May 2016 08:05 GMT

Don’t miss out. Here’s how to get on the free beta for Blizzard shooter Overwatch on consoles and PC.

overwatch_tracer

Overwatch beta: when it starts and how to get on it

UPDATE: The open beta is live! Below you’ll be find instructions on how to download and play it on PC, Xbox One and PS4.

The early access beta for new Blizzard shooter Overwatch starts again on May 2/3 for PC, and this time it’s also available on PS4 and Xbox One until May 9.

You have only one way to guranteee entry to the early access beta, and that’s to preorder the game digitally by April 29.

If you miss out on that, you’ll have to wait a little bit longer for the open beta, available to all from May 5.

Overwatch_open_beta_map

When does the Overwatch open beta go live?

OPEN BETA START TIME: Access for all formats on the open beta will begin May 4 at 4pm PDT / 11pm UTC / midnight BST.

The handy map above details more regions and time zones.

When does the Overwatch open beta end?

The open beta for Overwatch will end in all regions for all players on Monday, May 9 at 10 am PDT 5:00pm UTC / 6pm BST.

overwatch_02

How to install the Overwatch open beta

Windows PC

  • Download and install the Battle.net desktop app, if you haven’t already, and launch it.
  • Create a FREE Battle.net account, or log in with an existing account.
  • Click the “Overwatch” icon, located on the left-hand side of the Battle.net desktop app.
  • Select your region from the drop-down menu, then click “Install” to begin the installation process.
  • Once installed, click “Play” to begin.

PlayStation 4

  • Turn on your PlayStation 4 and log in to your preferred local user.
  • Go to PlayStation Store and select “Search” from the top menu.
  • In the search field, type in “Overwatch.”
  • Select “Overwatch Open Beta” from the search results and then click “Download.”
  • Once the download and installation process is complete, click “Start” to begin.

Xbox One

  • Turn on your Xbox One and log in to your Xbox Live account.
  • Go to the Xbox One Store, select “Games,” then select “Search All Games.”
  • In the search field, type in “Overwatch.”
  • Select “Overwatch Open Beta” from the search results and then click “Download.”
  • Once the download and installation process is complete, click “Launch” to begin.

How to get on the Overwatch early access beta

EARLY ACCESS START TIME: The early access portion of the open beta begins on May 2 at 4pm PDT / 11pm UTC / midnight BST.

You need to be quick and preorder a digital copy of the Overwatch: Origins Edition on either PC, PS4 or Xbox One. This will grant you early access to the game ahead of the open beta. Ordering the PC version gives you two keys for download. Ordering on PS4 or Xbox One also gives you two keys, but one will arrive after the early access period.

Head on over to the official Blizzard store to choose your format and pay up. You’ll also receive the Noire Widowmaker skin as a bonus.

Overwatch: Origins Edition also includes five exclusive skins for in-game heroes, a Tracer hero for Heroes of the Storm, a baby pet Winston for World of Warcraft, an Overwatch theme card back for Hearthstone, Mercy’s wings for Diablo III and in-game portraits for StarCraft 2.

Back to Overwatch guide: best heroes, abilities and strategies for Blizzard’s shooter

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments