Microsoft’s “testing a variety” of new Xbox One prototypes – report

By Stephany Nunneley, Tuesday, 19 April 2016 21:14 GMT

It appears Microsoft is testing a “variety of Xbox prototypes,” according to a new report.

xbox_one_logo_clean_smaller

Microsoft’s “testing a variety” of new Xbox One prototypes

Sources familiar with the matter told The Verge prototypes being tested contain “upgraded components” similar to those which improve the “performance of a PC gaming rig.”

The report comes after FCC filings popped up last week suggesting Microsoft was possibly working on two new Xbox One models. One of which is assumed to be a slim model.

Since the FCC documents were discovered, the Brazilian equivalent of the FCC, Anatel, has posted an image of the new Xbox One wireless chipset mentioned in the FCC documents under NDA until June 25 (via NeoGAF).

The image shows chipset model 1683, and the FCC NDA expires the week after E3 2016, leading many to believe a new Xbox One model will be announced during Microsoft’s press conference.

With all the rumors swirling around PS4.5/PlayStation 4K, or codename Neo if you will, and now Xbox One, this could be a very interesting E3. If it’s all true.

Microsoft will host its E3 presentation at 9.30am PT/12.30pm ET/5.30pm UK.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments