Uncovered: Final Fantasy 15 event kicks off tonight – watch it here

By Stephany Nunneley, Wednesday, 30 March 2016 15:56 GMT

Square Enix will finally reveal the release date for Final Fantasy 15 this evening during its Uncovered event at the Shrine Auditorium in Hollywood, California.


The event will be livestreamed on both Twitch and YouTube this evening at 7pm PT/10pm ET/3am UK. We’ve embedded the YouTube version below.

Attendees will be able to play a tech demo, the video of which apparently leaked a bit early. The video showed a playable dream sequence featuring main character Noctis as a child, being led through a forest by Final Fantasy summon Carbuncle.

Earlier this month, sources close to Gematsu pegged the game for a September 30 release, and this seems to be the case due to an accidental button push earlier this afternoon. That being said, tonight we will find out for sure.

The game will also be localized in Latin American Spanish and Brazilian Portuguese. The team is also targeting 30fps, and the main scenario is expected to take around 50 hours to complete.

Originally announced as Final Fantasy 13 Versus, the game’s title change was announced at E3 2013, confirming rumors stating as much in March 2013.

Final Fantasy 15 is slated for release on PlayStation 4 and Xbox One and Square is “working to make” PlayStation 4 bundle option. The game will launch simultaneously worldwide.

You can get caught up on the last three year’s worth of Final Fantasy 15 news through the game’s page stub.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.