That popular Guitar Hero 3 song is back and it’s playable in Guitar Hero Live

By Stephany Nunneley, Wednesday, 3 February 2016 18:49 GMT

Yes, “that” song. The one which spawned many a YouTube video showing folks playing it on Expert.

Beginning today on the console versions of Guitar Hero Live, a marathon event featuring the toughest songs in GHTV is occurring. And you can win special prizes.

These tough songs are on repeat and included in the Shred-a-Thon playlist:

  • Dragonforce – Through the Fire and Flames
  • Alter Bridge – Cry of Achilles
  • Megadeth – Hangar 18
  • Lamb of God – Ghost Walking
  • Trivium – Strife

The five-day marathon is taking place on a third channel in GHTV, and runs until Monday, February 8 at 7am PT/10am ET/3pm UK. Every song in the Shred-a-Thon is also Rival Challenge-enabled, which means players have the option of competing against matchmade players in a head-to-head battle during each song.

Once the marathon concludes, Through the Fire and Flames will be added to the game’s regular song catalog.

Tweet screenshots of your Shred-a-Thon scores to @GuitarHero for a chance to win in-game prizes, including an exclusive marathon Player Card and song play tokens, as well as Gold Guitar Hero Live Controllers, Guitar Hero Live t-shirts and more.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.