Destiny’s Gjallarhorn stays at Year One level with The Taken King, rewatch livestream here

By Stephany Nunneley, Thursday, 20 August 2015 22:27 GMT

Miss Bungie’s Destiny: The Taken King livestream yesterday? No matter. The developer has pulled all the interesting bits out for you and posted the stream in YouTube format. It’s inside. Er um, and Gjallarhorn is staying at a Year One level. Sorry. But you probably figured as much.

If you didn’t feel like reading my completely noobish articles filled with me trying to sound super-versed in Destiny, you should read onward. The points are all pulled verbatim from the Weekly Update.

Why are the numbers on the Guardians different?

We’ve altered the way Light and Level are calculated to enable a more streamlined evolution of your characters. Leveling up your Guardian is now a product of earning experience in the game. Increasing your Light is now a product of acquiring and equipping more powerful gear.

How will you calculate the new numbers you’ll assign to my Guardians in Year Two?

We’ll determine your level based on the gear in your inventory and your Vault. Don’t dismantle your best stuff before you begin your Year Two adventure.

What about weapons and my armor? The Attack and Defense ratings are different, too.

We’ve changed the values of Year One items to provide a unified experience that flows seamlessly into Year Two. Aside from the weapon tuning in Update 2.0, your Year One weapons will perform in Year One activities as you would expect.

How do those Exotic Blueprints work?

When players discover an Exotic, they will also have discovered the Blueprint for it. It’s a schematic required to craft previously discovered weapons and armor. Once you have collected a Blueprint for an Exotic, you can “purchase” it anew using the required forms of currency. Blueprints provide you with a new item that must be upgraded. The Blueprint stations are not an extension of your Vault – your space there has been doubled for easy access to your favorite upgraded items. Blueprints are stored in two collection stations near the Vanguards in the Hall of Guardians: one for Exotic Weapon Blueprints, one for Exotic Armor Blueprints. These are  archived automatically when you discover a new Exotic and can be shared between account characters.

Which Exotics will be available in Year Two?

In addition to a bunch of brand new Exotics for you to discover in Year Two, we’re redesigning and redeploying select Exotics from Year One
For example: No Backup Plans has been redesigned. We significantly extended the duration of the old perk “Improved Disintegrate”
Now, Shotgun kills will also trigger Force Barrier when its off of cooldown. And yes, when triggered via Shotgun, Force Barrier also gets the benefit of the selected perk (Shotgun kills can trigger War Machine).

Did you redesign Gjallarhorn?

Gjallarhorn will remain a Year One Exotic at Year One levels.

How can I acquire the Year Two Exotics that have evolved from Blueprints I discovered in Year One?

Select weapons and armor pieces that have been redesigned for Year Two can be purchased for Legendary Marks, assuming you discovered the original Year One Blueprints

What are Legendary Marks?

Legendary Marks will replace Vanguard Marks and Crucible Marks as a new form of unifying currency in the Tower. By completing Daily Story Chapters, Weekly Heroic Strikes, and Daily PVP Activities you will earn these marks. By dismantling Year Two Legendary items – assuming you don’t have the maximum value of 200 Legendary Marks associated with your player account you will also acquire the marks.  There is no cap to how many Legendary Marks a player can earn in a week but the maximum a player account can hold is capped at 200. Like Glimmer, they are shared across all player characters. Year One Vanguard and Crucible Marks in blocks of fifty will be converted into one reputation consumable.

Now that my nameplate displays my Light and Level, where can I strut my Grimoire score?

It will be displayed under your Level when your Guardian is inspected.

Are you raising the Glimmer Cap?

The Glimmer cap remains as it has been in Year One. You’ll have plenty to spend it on in Year Two.

Basically, a recap of everything we posted yesterday, only more concise and to the point.

Destiny: The Taken King launches on September 15 for PlayStation 3, PS4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch