Next World of Warcraft expansion is called Legion and takes place on The Broken Isles

By Stephany Nunneley, Thursday, 6 August 2015 17:12 GMT

Blizzard announced the latest expansion for World of Warcraft live at gamescom 2015, and it’s called Legion.

Main Takeaways


New Demon Hunter Class

Artifact Weapons of legendary power Earn Artifact power to unlock abilities and traits, and customize your weapon to suit your needs.

The Broken Isles continent

Order Hall where fellow NPC members of your class unite

PvP Honor System and new ranger of PvP-specific powers

Level cap increased to 110

Auto boost one character to level 100

Production on the expansion has been in the works for “a while now,” and it connects where the story of Warlords of Draenor left off “so far” and Gul’dan is back. And badder than ever it seems.

The expansion takes place on The Broken Isles which was mentioned in Warcraft 3. The area used to be a bustling Night Elf civilization. The continent is now a graveyard so to speak, and on the content players will discover The Broken “the biggest demonic invasion” of Azeroth to date by The Burning Legions controlled by Gul’dan on The Broken Shore.

In Legions, the story will go back into the past giving players a look into when Illidan Stormrage sent Demon Hunters out into the world to fight demons. They will also become privy to the tale of Sargeras, who was the creator and leader of the Burning Legion.

A new race of elves will be discovered that have been around for 10,000 years in the new area. They were formed out of other elves and are now pawns of the Burning Legion. They have one of the main artifacts needed, and they will have to be slaughtered in full to obtain said artifact.

Players will also go into the Emerald Nightmare, and it appears this is accomplished by entering the Emerald Dream first seen in Mists of Pandaria (I think).

The level cap has been increased with Legion to 110, which will give players a better chance at victory in the new dungeons and raids.

A new PvP Honor System comes with the expansion, and it includes PvP-specific talents, rewards, and progression, as well as improved support for in-game communities.

Along with the new Artifact weapons, Class Order Halls and the new Demon Hunter Class are other new features added with the expansion.

Players will be able to boost one character to level 100, so they can join friends should they not have hit the appropriate level to play the expansion.

The transmogrification system has been revamped, and allows the player to collect item appearances and save their favorite outfits without sacrificing bag space.

Here’s a bit more information straight from Blizzard:

“The great enemy of the Horde and the Alliance—the demonic Burning Legion—has returned. As destruction rains across Azeroth, its heroes must seek salvation among the ruins of the mythic Broken Isles, ancient seat of a lost night elf civilization—and site of the accursed Tomb of Sargeras, which now serves as a gateway to endless Legion worlds.

“Players will need to secure mighty Artifacts—class-specific, highly customizable weapons forged in the fires of lore. They’ll also join forces with an all-new hero class, the vengeful Demon Hunter, and unify champions of their cause at their class’s Order Hall.”

New Demon Hunter Class

The Demon Hunter Class is basically an elven outcast which can “tap into forbidden” Legion powers in times of need. This allows them to morph into “fel forms.”

Players who focus on Havoc can perform “fiery demonic attacks” or if they specialize in Vengeance they can take “massive punishment” from enemies.

Spectral Sight is one power which allows the class to “magically augmented sight to detect enemies,” even those that hide behind obstacles.

Metamorphosis allows the Demon Hunter to transform into hellish forms which enhances their power. Damage-focused Illidari gain swiftness and damage allowing them to finish their enemy, while those who use defense become almost invincible in their demonic forms.

This class can also double jump, vault in and out of combat, and even unfold their wings to perform gliding descents and surprise attacks from above.

Weapons of Power

Players can “wield artifacts of legend” against the Burning Legion, because they need more than just numbers to defeat them. These myth-forged weapon grows in power along with the player, and artifact choices will change weapon abilities along with how it looks, sounds, and feels in combat.

Paladins will be getting the two-handed sword Ashbringer, rumored to be forged by Magni Bronzebeard, allows the wielder to turn their opponents to ash.

A Legion beta test will be available later this year, and you can sign up by logging into your account and opt-in to be randomly selected for an invitation once the testing process begins.

More information on the enemies you will face, a look at the new weapons and a closer look at the Demon Hunter class can be found on via the World of Warcraft: Legion hub page.

Quite a few bits of artwork, screenshots and renders of the new artifacts and Demon Hunter class are in the galleries below.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch