Shenmue 3 becomes most funded video game Kickstarter, Suzuki hosting livestream later

By Stephany Nunneley, Friday, 17 July 2015 14:04 GMT

With 13 hours left on the clock, Shenmue 3 has become the highest-earning video game Kickstarter on record.

As of press time, 61,674 backers have pledged $5,564,804.

During the final hours of the crowdfunding phase, creator Yu Suzuki will host a livestream on Twitch.

In a video message on Kickstarter, and posted above, Suzuki discusses how within just eight hours of being announced, the game reached its initial $2 million goal. It was the fastest project to reach that figure, and also the fastest game to reach $1 million.

The stream on the official Shenmue 3 Twitch channel will kick off today at 4pm PT/7pm ET/12am UK.

It’s offline at the moment, but we’ve embedded it for you below.

Watch live video from Shenmue3Official on www.twitch.tv

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments