Tomorrow’s Splatoon update adds new ranked battle mode Tower Control

By Stephany Nunneley, Tuesday, 30 June 2015 15:45 GMT

Nintendo will release an update to Splatoon tomorrow, July 1, and it’s a new multiplayer option for ranked battle mode.

splatoon_tower_control

Titled Tower Control, the player objective is to ride a single floating tower into the enemy’s base. As both teams rush toward the tower in the center of the map, another tower will start moving once a player climbs aboard.

Players riding the tower have an increased risk of being splatted. Others on the team will need to surround the tower to protect the player riding the tower.

Another Splatfest event is on the horizon as well. For the entire day on July 4 in North America, players can rank up and earn in-game Super Sea Snails to futher customize and improve their gear.

The winning team at the end of Splatfest will receive bonus Super Sea Snails. More information on the upcoming Splatfest will be revealed at a later date.

A Treehouse: Live event today featuring the Tower Control update will be streamed today at 3pm PT/6pm ET/11pm UK today on Twitch.

You can watch the Japanese version of the Tower Control video below.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments