Mortal Kombat X video is all about story mode, new characters

By Stephany Nunneley
27 February 2015 14:03 GMT

After promising a new Mortal Kombat X reveal “soon”, NetherRealm Studios has made good on said promise by releasing the story trailer.

Watch on YouTube

The video shows parts of the story mode featuring Mileena, which takes place 25 years after the events of 2011’s Mortal Kombat.

Outworld has become a larger threat and new fighters joining the ranks to battle Mileena’s rebel army are Jax’s daughter Jacqueline Briggs, Kenshi’s son Takashi Takeda and Kung Jin who is a descendant of Kung Lao.

That means we now have 18 confirmed fighters (via IGN):

  • Jacqueline Briggs
  • Takashi Takeda
  • Kung Jin
  • Goro
  • Mileena Ermac
  • Scorpion
  • Sub-Zero
  • Cassie Cage
  • D’Vorah
  • Kotal Kahn
  • Ferra & Torr
  • Raiden
  • Kano
  • Reptile
  • Kitana
  • Kung Lao
  • Quan Chi

Rumored fighters:

  • Erron Black
  • Sindel
  • Shang Tsung
  • Cyrax
  • Sonya
  • Rain
  • Shinnok
  • Jax
  • Johnny Cage

Mortal Kombat X is coming to PC, PlayStation 3, PS4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One on April 14.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch