PSN down for some users, Sony acknowledges issues

By Brenna Hillier, Monday, 8 December 2014 02:48 GMT

The PSN is inaccessible to some users, especially in North America, but no details or an ETA on a fix are available as yet.


Users began reporting log-in problems about 6:00 PM PT/9:00 PM ET/2:00 AM UK/1:00 PM AEST.

Although not everybody seems to be affected, North American gamers are having a particularly hard time getting online, and receiving a maintenance notification when they try to sign in. GameInformer has verified the issue.

Sony has acknowledged the problem, but is being quite taciturn.

The PSN Status page isn’t showing any alerts either, which is a bit disappointing. That said, Microsoft was also unusually quiet last time Xbox Live had problems, and as a DDoS group has claimed responsibility for both service interruptions, it’s possible the platform holders are doing their best to minimise attention paid to those responsible.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.