Pokemon Alpha Sapphire and Omega Ruby gets four more mega evolutions

By Brenna Hillier
13 October 2014 00:48 GMT

Pokemon Alpha Sapphire and Omega Ruby includes mega evolutions for Latios, Latias, Pidgeot and Beedrill.


Pokemon Alpha Sapphire and Omega Ruby were featured in a recent issue of CoroCoro Magazine, as harvested and translated by Serebii.net.

Four new mega evolutions were revealed. Mega Pidgeot is a Normal/Flying type with the No Guard ability. Mega Beedrill is a Bug/Poison type with the Adaptability ability.

Mega Latios is exclusive to Omega Ruby and Mega Latias is exclusive to Alpha Sapphire, although event codes may allow trainers to collect both. Their abilities and types were not listed, but you will be able to use them to fly.

You can fly at any time while exploring the landscape, and battle in the clouds, hopefully capturing Pokemon like Dialga, Plakia, Reshiram and Zekrom. Some islands are only accessible via flight.

CoroCoro’s report apparently confirmed that all non-event Legendary Pokemon will be available in both games for capture.

Pokemon Alpha Sapphire and Omega Ruby is due on 3DS in November.

Thanks, Joystiq.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch