GMA 2012 officially announced, nominations open now

By Johnny Cullen
17 May 2012 10:53 GMT

Intent’s announced this year’s Games Media Awards, which will take place on Thursday, October 18 at the Vinopolis.

Two new categories have been added for this year: Best Tweeter and Games Writer of the Year, judged by Whitbread Novel Award winner and Guardian columnist Tim Lott.

Here’s the full list of categories:

  • Games Magazine
  • Games Website
  • Specialist Writer – Print
  • Specialist Writer – Online
  • National Newspaper – Writer
  • Mainstream Magazine – Writer
  • Games Video
  • Games Radio and Podcast
  • Games Blog
  • Rising Star
  • Coverage by a Mainstream Website
  • Top Tweeter
  • Games Media Legend
  • Games Writer of the Year

Last year’s winners included a well-deserving Christian Donlan, IGN UK games editor Keza MacDonald, Rock Paper Shotgun, Martin Gaston, the now-defunct SentUAMessage and The Guardian among others, while IGN news director Colin Campbell walked away with the Games Media Legend.

The event was marred by the behaviour of main sponsor Grainger Games, however.

We won absolutely fuck all last year. So vote for us this year, yeah? You don’t want to see me sulk like a fucking hobo again, do you? To be clear, yes, we are a games blog. And yes, you can now actually vote for us in Best Video with Sam now on board, by the by.

Tell Intent how awesome we are by sending nominations here. Lobbying is now underway until July 20.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch