Apple TV out of stock as iPad 3 rumors reach zenith

By Stephany Nunneley, Wednesday, 7 March 2012 14:48 GMT

It seems as though anticipation of an iPad 3 reveal is at an all-time high, and causing stock depletion in Apple TV. According to a report on Macrumors via Develop, only one Apple Store in the US located in South Hills Village, Pittsburgh has it in stock.

Customers in the US can still order the product, which is slated to be delivered within a week but the set-top box is also currently out of stock in the UK, Ireland and Norway.

iPad aficionados may be looking forward to an iPad 3 reveal today, but a source close to VentureBeat has stated the only iPad reveal will be an HD version – not a third iteration – which lays more foundation to the iPad HD rumor posted on Gizmondo last week.

The updated version of the popular tablet is rumored to contain a display running 2,048 x 1,536 pixels making it the first tablet to sport 1080p high-definition at its full resolution of 1,920 x 1,080.

Last week’s Mobile World Congress had a few 1080p Android tablets from Asus, Acer, and Huawei on display, but the rumored iPad HD would be the first on the market.

Earlier this week, a report from Taiwanese publication Digitimes claimed Apple plans to announce two iPad 3 models – a 16GB and 32GB version – and also claimed an 8GB version of iPad 2 was in the works.

Apple’s event kicks off today at 10am PST/1pm EST/6pm UK but the firm won’t be streaming the event. However, if you’d like to know what’s going on as it’s announced, ZDnet has a list of sites which will be live blogging the event through here.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments