29th Annual Golden Joystick Awards: Portal 2 wins Ultimate Game of the Year

By Stephany Nunneley, Friday, 21 October 2011 15:37 GMT

The 2011 Golden Joystick Awards were held tonight, and some of the winners include: Mortal Kombat, Fallout: New Vegas, Angry Birds, and World of Warcraft. But Portal 2 walked home with the biggest prize with an Ultimate Game of the Year award.

Yesterday, it was announced that Sonic the Hedgehog had been handed the first annual Outstanding Contribution award. The award show also broke a Guinness record by having 2.06 million users vote on the winners.

The awards were announced after comedian Seann Walsh finished his stage show.

Below is the list of winners.

  • Best Fighting Game: Mortal Kombat
  • Best MMO: World of Warcraft
  • Best RPG: Fallout New Vegas
  • Best Mobile Game: Angry Birds Rio
  • Best Music Game: Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock
  • Best Strategy: StarCraft II
  • Best Sports Game: FIFA 11
  • Best Racing Game: Gran Turismo 5
  • Best Free-to-Play Game: League of Legends
  • Best Downloadable Game: Minecraft
  • Best Shooter: Call of Duty : Black Ops
  • One to Watch: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
  • Best Action/Adventure: Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood
  • Innovation of the Year: 3DS
  • Ultimate Game of the Year: Portal 2

The list of this year’s nominees can be found on the official Golden Joysticks website.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.