Diablo III’s runestones detailed

By Brenna Hillier, Thursday, 26 May 2011 04:20 GMT

Blizzard has gone into greater detail on Diablo III’s runestones, which let players customise the effects – and even appearance – of their skills.

There are five varieties of runestone – crimson, indigo, obsidian, golden, and alabaster.

Each modifies the skill its attached to in different ways – Blizzard’s post offers the example of crimson increasing damage while alabaster adds a stun effect.

The effects of each runestone type vary from skill to skill, too. For instance, the crimson runestone changes the damage of Acid Cloud from a sustained to an immediate effect, but adds area of effect damage to Whirlwind.

As there are over 100 skills in the game, that’s more than 500 possible combinations.

Additionally, each of the five runestones is available in several different ranks, or levels of strength – meaning you’re potentially looking at thousands of results.

Hit the link above for more details.

Thanks, Gamefront.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.




Diabl 3

Diablo III

  • Diablo 3 players earning Double XP this weekend

    Diablo 3 players an participate in a Double XP event this weekend, which should help them prepare for Reaper of Souls’ launch on Tuesday, March 25. The experience bonus is set to 100%, up from the 50% Blizzard set earlier this month. The 100% Bonus XP period ends on Monday, March 24 at 12:01 am […]

  • Diablo 3 players on PC and Mac getting 50% extra XP starting today

    Diablo 3 players can bask in some extra XP for a limited time on PC and Mac starting today. Players will net 50% extra experience points in celebration of the Reaper of Souls expansion, which lands at the end of the month. This will also help out greatly with the Paragon Leveling System which recently […]