“Dreamcast.com” not owned by Sega? Yes it is

By Patrick Garratt, Monday, 10 March 2008 08:47 GMT


This is awesome. This story is claiming that gamers were “duped” by Sega asking for Dreamcast serial numbers over the weekend, and that the domain “dreamcast.com” is not owned by the company.

Using amazing internet skills, videogaming247.com has confirmed that Sega does, in fact, own Dreamcast.com. From the whois registry:


Shoji Takamitsu (Shoji_Takamitsu@sega.co.jp)
Haneda 1-2-12, Ohta-ku, Tokyo
Tel. +81.0357367080

Creation Date: 12-Jun-2005
Expiration Date: 12-Jun-2008

Give Shoji a ring if you like, just to be doubly sure.

The outcome of registering your Dreamcast on the site is that you’re given a Dreamcast branded email account. Dreamcast’s tenth anniversary is this year, so rumour is obviously rampant that getting your machine’s identity on the list will have another benefit somewhere down the line.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.





  • Dreamcast.com confirmed as phishing scam – Sega taking action

    It was bollocks after all. According to this the whole ten year anniversary Dreamcast celebration that we reported three days ago definitely is a scam. The news comes from Japanese site Mainichi, who has seemingly confirmed that Sega really doesn’t own the Dreamcast.com domain any more. Apparently even the site’s registration details that we published […]

  • Dreamcast registration request crashes Sega's site

    Sega wants to know if you still own a Dreamcast, a simple question that’s resulted in a factor-12 netquake. All you see when you hit the link at that page is, “Due the high volume of account requests, the service will be temporally suspended.” Apparently, if you successfully navigate beyond this then Sega asks you […]