Iron Banner event added to Destiny beta, play your Guardian on both last and current-gen

Saturday, 19 July 2014 17:06 GMT By Stephany Nunneley

Bungie has updated the Destiny beta with the Iron Banner event, and it starts at 2pm PDT/5pm EDT/10pm UK and will run until till 4pm PDT/7pm EDT/12am UK.

During this time, two Crucible Maps called Rusted Lands and Blind Watch will be available with The Crucible game mode.

Here’s word straight from Bungie:

Welcome to The Iron Banner. Lord Shaxx isn’t the only legendary Guardian tasked with hammering you into fighting shape. When the time comes, new doors will open in the Tower. The Iron Banner crest will be set alight, and Lord Saladin will emerge with new challenges to overcome, and a new way to earn honor and glory for your Guardian.

The Crucible proper is all about putting your skills to the test. Iron Banner requires another crucial element: Power.

Lars Bakken knows a thing or two about competitive play: “Bring your absolute best gear because we turn on Level Advantages. That means your Attack and Defense ratings matters in Iron Banner matches.”

We’re not just giving you new ways to play. We’re expanding on the arenas where you’ll fight. “Two maps get added into the new playlist,” says Lars. “The fan favorite Rusted Lands returns from the Alpha, and we take you to Mars for the first time ever with Blind Watch. Iron Banner is the ONLY way to see these maps in the Beta.”

New maps are not the only reward for your bravery in this new competitive construct. According to Designer Leif Johansen, “Iron Banner has limited time rewards, so show up with your ‘A’ game. Losing a match may make the difference between getting that bad ass Assault Rifle or not.”

Lord Saladin will be waiting. Before you enter his domain, heed this final warning from Lars: “Get ready to kick ass. You will be tested here unlike anywhere else in the Beta.”

Remember, it only runs for two hours today so be prepared.

Other news on the Destiny front, includes the ability to move your Guardian from one console generation to the next.

“Just like hopping worlds, you can use the same Guardian on Next Gen and Legacy Gen consoles – so long as you stay in the same system,” said Bungie. “Ergo, you can move from PlayStation to PlayStation and from Xbox to Xbox, but not across product lines.”

Hit up the link for more information.

Destiny releases on PlayStation 3, PS4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One September 9.

Latest