Sections

SWTOR Update 1.2 – Legacy deploys on April 12

Wednesday, 11th April 2012 15:13 GMT By Stephany Nunneley

BioWare has announced it will be bringing down the SWTOR servers for eight hours on April 12 in order to apply Update 1.2 – Legacy. All game servers will be offline during this period, and while eight hours is the mark, it could last a bit longer so be prepared.

Update 1.2 introduces new content and features such as rewards and a family tree via the expanded Legacy System. Players will be able to explore Lost Island, a new Flashpoint, challenge the new Operation: Explosive Conflict, and the new Novare Coast Warzone.

Daily missions will be available on Corellia, the User Interface will be customizable, guilds will now have a Guild Bank, and there’s plenty more.

The patch, notes for which can be found here, is 1GB in size – depending on when you last updated the game.

Here’s are the various down times for the main time zones: Thursday, April 12 – 12:01AM CDT (April 11th, 10:01PM PDT/1:01AM EDT/6:01AM BST/7:01AM CEST/3:01PM AEST) until 8AM CDT (6AM PDT/9AM EDT/2PM BST/3PM CEST/11PM AEST)

Latest

10 Comments

  1. GrimRita

    It appears for some, the patch has already started to download lol
    http://www.swtor.com/community/showthread.php?t=399972 – and it appears its an 11GB download. ouch!

    #1 3 years ago
  2. Stephany Nunneley

    Christ! I wonder if the whole 1GB thing in the blog was a typo then. And 11GB? Christ, an entire MMO is around 12GB (at least LOTRO was).

    #2 3 years ago
  3. GrimRita

    Actually Steph, there is utter chaos on the forum right now.

    It appears that the patch IS 1GB, which went live(in typical bioware style) but because the game is still in 1.5, it has started to download the ENTIRE game again!

    There response is -
    Hey everyone, sorry for the brief confusion. Here’s what happened and how it affects you.

    Some patch-related changes were mistakenly deployed early. Luckily, these changes only affected players for a very brief (less than 15-minute) window. We corrected this unintentional change very quickly.

    Here’s how it affects you:

    If you started or completed the patch download, you have two options:

    If you want to continue playing today, you will need to restart your client and re-download the client
    If you want to wait until tomorrow and play when 1.2 is deployed to the servers, you can close your client and restart it tomorrow after the patch is deployed (approximately 8AM CDT).

    We apologize for the confusion, but only a very small number of players were affected by this unintentional change. Thank you for your understanding.

    http://www.swtor.com/community/showthread.php?p=3832410#edit3832410

    What a mess! LOL

    #3 3 years ago
  4. Talkar

    Seriously Grim. What are you doing. The problem was fixed in mere minutes and the patch deploys tomorrow, so it’s not a big deal.

    #4 3 years ago
  5. GrimRita

    @4 maybe you can explain it to those who cant play tonight?

    #5 3 years ago
  6. Talkar

    Sure, except i haven’t met anyone with the problem. Every single person i know who is playing the game, is enjoying this game to its fullest. I’m sorry you aren’t, but that is no reason to try and degrade the experience for others.

    #6 3 years ago
  7. GrimRita

    Of course you havent Talkar thats because you talk out of your arse. That thread in the link – look there – its full of dozens of people who have been impacted by this stupid error by Bioware.

    Why was the update anywhere near the live servers? Dont they even have some basic safeguards? My god, its 2012 and basic errors are still being made by a bunch of muppets.

    And to make matters worse, those who wish to play tonight, cant even download the game again because the download server has crashed. Perhaps people wanted to get online and either buy mats, spend tokens etc in preparation for this update because in typical Bioware fashion, most have only had 24 hours notice it was coming!

    You can say what you want about ‘degrading the experience for others’ but people like me, make sure people like you dont brain wash the masses because if you think this game is perfect – you need your head tested.

    #7 3 years ago
  8. Talkar

    I’ve never said the game is perfect. It has plenty of issues, but i know they are being addressed so i for one doesn’t see a point in whining about it. Like how you blow an issue that lasted a few minutes up to a scale like it was destroying the entire world. And if people really don’t have anything other to do, than play SWTOR how will you deny it is a good game?
    Pretty much every single game company has made technical errors, some more severe than others. But if the error is fixed really really fast, like in this instance, it doesn’t really matter. Get off your high horse for once. Lastly, i don’t really know why you care about my ass but have fun i guess.

    #8 3 years ago
  9. GrimRita

    But youre not getting it? Its not ‘fixed’. They claim it ‘lasted a few minutes’ but clearly has had a major impact. And Biowares response is a typical one – ‘we fucked up, but tough shit’.

    Given its such a major update to the game – probably the one that will make or break it for those still playing, this is a mjor screw up. And, why only 24 hours notice to announce its arrival?

    It was only yesterday they said they had no release date for it (http://www.swtor.com/community/showthread.php?p=3816316#edit3816316) and then within 30 minutes or so, it was announced its coming. Re sub day or EA Investors call due soon? Probably!

    Bioware for once should sit down and a) plan b) think about the self made issues they throw at their suffering player base because essentially, behaving like this, wont win them any new fans

    #9 3 years ago
  10. Talkar

    The post you linked to said they have a release date, and they will announce it soon, which as you said, they did. What is the problem there?

    #10 3 years ago

Comments are now closed on this article.