Sections

Star Wars: The Old Republic is free to play this weekend

Thursday, 5th April 2012 02:13 GMT By Brenna Hillier

BioWare is holding another free weekend event over the Easter break for MMORPG Star Wars: the Old Republic.

The free weekend is only available to those who haven’t already used a free trial in the past. You won’t need a credit card to sign up, and if you decided to take the plunge, your trial characters will be waiting for you.

The trial extends to the first fifteen levels, and players can visit all eight Origin Worlds and if really efficient, may reach the Capital World. PvP Warzones and Flashpoints will also be available.

The trial kicks off at 10:00PM PDT April 4, 1:00AM EDT, 6:00AM BST and 3:00PM AEST April 5. It runs through 12:01AM PDT, 3:00 AM EDT, 8:00AM BST and 5:00PM AEST April 9

You can sign up and grab the client as soon as the event begins, and can register up until the final day.

For more information, visit the Weekend Pass page and FAQ.

Thanks, Talkar!

Latest

6 Comments

  1. back_up

    poor bioware getting zero sales
    PS3 version would have sold much better

    #1 3 years ago
  2. GrimRita

    They should just open the free trials up and be done with it. This poor dead horse has been flogged so many times now.

    Besides, who on earth would want to pay to play this after the free trial, with so many BASIC functions missing? Yeah they keep dangling the ‘its coming in 1.2′ card, which then tells me, common sense should tell EA to stop fucking around and open the trials up once 1.2 is actually live

    #2 3 years ago
  3. viralshag

    They do seem to have a lot of F2P weekends… I mean, it doesn’t really seem like a great advertisement of a “healthy” MMO.

    Oh well. I will make a decision on re-subbing for a month when 1.2 gets here. But if they don’t do it soon I won’t bother thanks to D3.

    #3 3 years ago
  4. Talkar

    @2
    What are you doing on the SWTOR news comments? if you quit or hate this game? Trolling stuff like this is just plain asanine. If you intend to influence people to quit this game or just want to see it fail you clearly are an insensitive *****. You obviously have no care that the people who work on this game and their families and even as a ripple effect would suffer if this game shut down. If you are here just to see some ‘fanboys’ squeal about the game they love then you have the interests of an ahole teenager. If you are an ahole teenager please go and do something more constructive with your time.

    #4 3 years ago
  5. GrimRita

    @4 – Fuck off. You show me where its trolling?

    And not caring, oh please. Then maybe they should have made a product fit for 2012 not 1912.

    Oh and I did care. I had friends at LucasArts who were working on this title and everything looked rosey until it all changed and turned it into this outdated mess.

    Hell, even their latest video posted on here with all the fanfare ‘LOOK!!! You will be able to have customised UI’…big fucking deal. Star Wars Galaxies had that back in 2003, most MMOs have it as standard and if they dont, they allow Mods.

    You fan boys just cant stand it when anyone slates this mess of a game. Im entitled to my views and comments, dont like them…dont read them.

    The fact is, this game isnt the great hit EA for hoping for but rather than actually address the issues, they keep rolling out the ‘free’ weekends, which of course, players need a valid credit card to subscribe with…and where does that lead to? Yes, more ‘active’ subscribers.

    #5 3 years ago
  6. Phoenixblight

    @5

    Dude you rarely post but when it comes to TOR you have to “speak the truth” hmm sounds like someone we all see in the comment section whenever it is a PC game. Whether its considered trolling or not doesn’t matter but what you are is a broken record that can’t seem to move on pass the hurt that TOR has obviously afflicted on to your soul.

    #6 3 years ago

Comments are now closed on this article.