Sections

PSN maintenance scheduled for tomorrow

Thursday, 19th January 2012 02:05 GMT By Brenna Hillier

Sony has announced a maintenance outage for the PlayStation Network on Thursday, January 19.

As detailed on the US PS Blog, the outage is scheduled for 8:00PM PST (11:00PM EST; January 20 4:00AM GMT/3:00PM AEST) through 9:00PM PST (January 20 12:00AM EST/5:00AM GMT/4:00PM AEST).

It’s not clear whether the outage is restricted to the US network only, or will extend to other territories.

The outage is expected to affect:

  • PlayStation Store on PS3, PSP, and Media Go.
  • PlayStation Network Account Management.
  • PlayStation Network Account Registration.
  • PlayStation Home
  • Music Unlimited & Video Unlimited services
  • Log-ins via us.playstation.com

As usual, if you’re already signed into the PSN when the outage begins, you should be able to maintain your session, but will still be locked out of the services already mentioned. Any trophies earned during the outage will be added to your PSN ID once normal service resumes.

No explanation was given for the outage beyond regular maintenance.

Latest

5 Comments

  1. LOLshock94

    n00000 ps3 fanboys cry the tears of orphans

    #1 3 years ago
  2. roni1175

    Nothing to worry about. Playing online is not affected. I can live without account management for couple of hours

    #2 3 years ago
  3. dravenkaze

    Lol at first comment who cant read, we can still get online

    #3 3 years ago
  4. shogoz

    This may be a dumb question…but why does the whole network go down when they do maintenance in this day and age? Sony really should just create a universal PSN store so this wouldnt happen….AND we would get the same things other countries get on our PSN store without creating a hundred usernames. the best one i’ve found is singapore…can anyone recommend a good store?

    #4 3 years ago
  5. Joe Musashi

    @4 This may be a dumb question…but why does the whole network go down when they do maintenance in this day and age?

    The whole network isn’t going down. It’s in the article:

    As usual, if you’re already signed into the PSN when the outage begins, you should be able to maintain your session, but will still be locked out of the services already mentioned. Any trophies earned during the outage will be added to your PSN ID once normal service resumes.

    That’s not the whole network.

    JM

    #5 3 years ago

Comments are now closed on this article.