Non-Rising fans should “patiently wait” for stealth-based MGS sequel, says Kojima

Tuesday, 13 December 2011 07:44 GMT By Johnny Cullen

Not liking the direction Metal Gear Rising has taken? Simple: wait for the next, true Metal Gear Solid game, Hideo Kojima has said.

It follows the re-unveil of Rising at the VGAs on Saturday, now in the hands of Platinum Games. Some hardcore fans of the series haven’t given the new direction the thumbs-up.

In a tweet, following a press junket in the US overnight for Rising with Platinum’s Atsushi Inaba, Kojima said: “Had same kind of questions @today’s conf. Our ex-RISING also were aiming at feel good action w/ protagonist, Raiden as a Spin-off, not MGS & such concept was shared w/ New RISING by P*.

“For those of you desire for authentic stealth MGS, I want you to patiently wait for the sequel coming in future.”

A proper stealth-based MGS title hasn’t been released since Peace Walker on PSP last summer. It re-released as a console title for PS3 and 360 in the MGS HD Collection, which comes to Europe in February.

Konami’s promised the release of a special documentary involving Kojima Productions and Platinum Games on Rising’s development for 5pm PST/8pm EST tonight (1am GMT) on the MGS website.

Metal Gear Rising launches on PS3 and 360 next year.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Latest