Sections

Xbox Live update: Activision and EA sales, free Gold trial weekend

Friday, 7th January 2011 01:53 GMT By Brenna Hillier

xboxlivelogo

Major Nelson has posted the full list of this fortnight’s new content and special deals.

In addition to the usual new games on demand and avatar items landing over the next few days, January lucks out with a pair of spectacular sales from two titan publishers and a free Gold subscription trial.

The best news for the penuriously pocketed is the trial; if you’re stuck with an unpaid Silver level sub rubbing shoulders with the plebs, sign in between 5:00 PM GMT (12:00 PM EST, 9:00 AM PST) January 28 and 5:00 PM GMT January 31st to try out the other side for free.

Before that happens, Activision gets things started on January 11, offering up to 50 percent off the cost of 25 titles. Full details will appear on the Xbox 360 dashboard when the sale kicks off, but Call of Duty map packs, Guitar Hero content, and Arcade titles will all make an appearance before the discounts dry up on January 17.

EA is up next, hot on its rival’s heels on January 18. Once again, discounts of up to 50 percent grace 25 titles, with details showing up on the dashboard. You’ll have until January 25 to capitalise.

This fortnight’s new content and deals of the week are listed in full below.

Xbox LIVE Deal of the Week
Week of January 10 – Zombies…Back from the Dead: Zombie Apocalypse, 400 Microsoft Points
The Dishwasher: Dead Samurai, 400 Microsoft Points
Zombie Prop Avatar, 160 Microsoft Points
Week of January 17:
Plants vs. Zombies, 800 Microsoft Points

Xbox Games On Demand:
January 4: Crackdown 2
January 11: Need for Speed SHIFT
January 18: Transformers: The Game
January 18: Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
January 18: Dante’s Inferno

Xbox LIVE Avatar Marketplace:
January 6: New Year’s Resolution
January 6: Food Fest
January 6: Burton
January 13: Dinosaur Pets
January 13: Xbox 360 Gear

Xbox LIVE Arcade:
January 12: Zeit2 (Ubisoft) 800 Microsoft Points

Breaking news

2 Comments

Sign in to post a comment.

  1. freedoms_stain

    Too much to hope for BC2 Vietnam to take a 50% dip so soon? :(

    #1 3 years ago
  2. Blerk

    Hmm… wonder what might be in the Acti and EA sales?

    #2 3 years ago