Mon, Mar 10, 2008 | 08:56 GMT

“Dreamcast.com” not owned by Sega? Yes it is

dcultimatepack.jpg

This is awesome. This story is claiming that gamers were “duped” by Sega asking for Dreamcast serial numbers over the weekend, and that the domain “dreamcast.com” is not owned by the company.

Using amazing internet skills, videogaming247.com has confirmed that Sega does, in fact, own Dreamcast.com. From the whois registry:

Domain Name: DREAMCAST.COM

Registrant:
SEGA CORPORATION
Shoji Takamitsu (Shoji_Takamitsu@sega.co.jp)
Haneda 1-2-12, Ohta-ku, Tokyo
Tokyo
null,1448531
JP
Tel. +81.0357367080

Creation Date: 12-Jun-2005
Expiration Date: 12-Jun-2008

Give Shoji a ring if you like, just to be doubly sure.

The outcome of registering your Dreamcast on the site is that you’re given a Dreamcast branded email account. Dreamcast’s tenth anniversary is this year, so rumour is obviously rampant that getting your machine’s identity on the list will have another benefit somewhere down the line.

7 comments

#1

Shatner
10/03/08, 9:04 am

Expiration Date: 12-Jun-2008

According to the dreaded Wikipedia, the original [url=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dreamcast#Launch]launch[/url] for Dreamcast in Japan was November 1998.

So the site is due to expire about five months before the 10th anniversary!

LOLsome. :)

#2

Shatner
10/03/08, 9:04 am

Expiration Date: 12-Jun-2008

According to the dreaded Wikipedia, the original launch for Dreamcast in Japan was November 1998.

So the site is due to expire about five months before the 10th anniversary!

LOLsome. :)

#3

patlike
10/03/08, 9:05 am

haha

Hopefully they’ll spot it in time :D

#4

Chinster
10/03/08, 10:32 am

“Dreamcast website is temporarily unavailable. Please try back later.
We apologize for any inconvenience.”

History repeats!

#5

patlike
10/03/08, 10:35 am

:D

#6

Chinster
10/03/08, 10:46 am

I want a dreamcast email address :(

#7

patlike
10/03/08, 11:02 am

Me too. Although my Dreamcast vanished many moons ago.

Leave a Reply