Tue, Mar 11, 2008 | 06:18 GMT

Dreamcast.com confirmed as phishing scam – Sega taking action

It was bollocks after all. According to this the whole ten year anniversary Dreamcast celebration that we reported three days ago definitely is a scam.

The news comes from Japanese site Mainichi, who has seemingly confirmed that Sega really doesn’t own the Dreamcast.com domain any more.

Apparently even the site’s registration details that we published this morning are also fake. Told you we had “amazing internet skills”.

Sega is considering “appropriate measures” to combat the action and is urging gamers to not to give any personal information to the site. So don’t.

By Mike Bowden

6 comments

#1

Syrok
10/03/08, 11:23 pm

/Nelson

Ha Ha

#2

morriss
10/03/08, 11:40 pm

Crafty bastards, eh?

#3

morriss
10/03/08, 11:46 pm

Tag ‘lies’ :D

#4

Bloodloss
11/03/08, 4:09 am

Wow, ‘best’ internet scam type thing I’ve ever seen. Well played, scammers. Well played.

#5

morriss
11/03/08, 12:28 pm

Yeah, very good, if not evil idea.

#6

Chinster
11/03/08, 1:58 pm

Boy am I glad I didn’t sign up last night :)

Leave a Reply